Advantage on Arcana

Literary Genres as Worldbuilding Tools: Introduction and Index

An idea that’s taken hold of me is using a setting’s literary or storytelling genres to communicate ideas about culture, character, place, and history. I want to share what I’ve come up with in a series, for which this post will serve as an introduction and index (below). But first some background.

photograph of calligraphy on parchment Source: liz west at flic.kr/p/t6dXx

I have a Master of Arts in English literature. I focused on English theatre and poetry in the early modern period (also known as the Renaissance, 1500-1800), so when one of my players asked if his character could buy a book as a gift for an NPC, I went a little overboard. I borrowed a lot of what I’d learned in my undergraduate and graduate degrees and devised a robust print culture for the Kingdom of Ewistar, the campaign’s main setting. After all, my main campaign takes place in a period very roughly analogous to England in the 1590s because I’m more comfortable improvising with that period than with the medieval period. I shared the fruits of that work on reddit (link), though in the near future I plan to develop that material a bit further here sometime.

One of the comments on that reddit post posed a question: what are the drow writing and reading in my campaign? Because I had planned to have an Underdark adventure in my campaign, I thought I’d put some work into developing their literary culture. However, whereas I only made up one genre wholesale for Ewistar, I wound up not just imagining particular works for the drow but also whole new genres. I also shared that work to reddit (link), and plan to reconsider those genres here.

By this point I had been bitten by the worldbuilding bug; I had seen what I could communicate in a campaign both with specific texts and with the genres those texts are members of. So I asked on the Discord server for David Somerville’s Planegea (link) if anyone there had come up with stonepunk storytelling genres or conventions; I shared a few I came up with and some of the other users joined in. I also cross-posted to reddit (link), of course, but as with the others I intend to post more here when I’ve had more time to think through how I would use these in a game.

Just a few months ago I got to a point in my main campaign where I planned to have some NPCs invite the player characters to join a story-telling event; not only would this push the players to develop their characters a little bit, I would also use the stories the NPCs shared to communicate certain things about their motivations and expectations. However, as sometimes happens, the players made choices that disrupted my plans and I didn’t get to run the storytelling event. Maybe I’ll be able to use the forms of oral storytelling in the game yet, but even if I don’t, I figure that maybe somebody can if I share them. I’ll do that here.

This should be enough to get started. I’ll edit this post with an index, below, as I start writing posts. I’ve put in placeholders that may change as I expand or combine concepts.

Literary Genres as Worldbuilding Tools: An Index

  1. Booksellers’ Stalls in the Kingdom of Ewistar, Part 1
  2. Booksellers’ Stalls in the Kingdom of Ewistar, Part 2
  3. Theatre in the Kingdom of Ewistar
  4. The Literary Culture of the Drow
  5. Storytelling Forms in Planegea
  6. Oral Storytelling Forms of the Lesser Giants
  7. General Reflections on Made-Up Genres in TTRPGs

Originally published 9 February 2024