Advantage on Arcana

Anthology Games: One Solution to a Missing Player

In my main 5e campaign, I had a problem. We have three players, excluding myself, and those three players all have complications in their real lives that means they sometimes cannot make it to our weekly sessions. This, of course, is a normal problem to have. It is also pretty normal in a group of this size that all three players would prefer not to play if we have someone missing. Unfortunately, this can sometimes lead to a situation where we miss more weeks than we play. So I went looking for a solution.

Whenever one of my two players cannot make it to a game, I run a two-person one-shot with PCs I pregenerate for the players. The adventure takes place in the same setting as my main campaign, involving characters the PCs have met or situations they have heard about. Sometimes we just check in on something they have a connection to; other times I use these sessions to introduce ideas I plan to build on later. (I try to avoid introducing anything plot-critical because one of my players is absent, but it's a good place for a bit of lore, a new perspective on something familiar, or a new NPC I might bring into the main campaign eventually.) Because they are related to one another but not in any strict narrative relation, one of my players started calling these sessions anthology games, a term that I have now also adopted.

Let's get specific. Here are some examples:

The anthology sessions have by and large gone over very well with my players, and they have the following advantages:

(If you read my previous post about giving the players some NPCs to control [link], you might recognize some of these advantages. After all, there's a lot of overlap between the two techniques, and the success I had giving my players NPCs is what gave me the idea to try these anthology pieces.)

The primary downside to the anthology sessions is that they can take a lot of time to prepare, and sometimes they take even more time to think up. Despite what I wrote above, I often don't reuse existing NPCs, in part because I don't want to repeat anthology concepts too frequently. And because I try to target anthology sessions to particular pairs of players, including mechanics they have expressed an interest in exploring, I need to have three anthology sessions ready at any time if I want to be able to use one on short notice. Indeed, my annual survey for my players now includes questions about mechanics or topics they want to see in anthology sessions. If I was a less diligent GM it might be easier, but that is not in my nature – or at least not in my current practice. (As it happens, I sometimes cannot keep up and I do not always have an anthology game ready when I need it.)

My understanding is that lots of tables have the same problem I had. A West Marches format is one possible solution, but it's not something you can easily introduce into an existing campaign. If you are a GM facing a lot of last-minute cancellations that derail your regular gaming schedule, perhaps consider trying anthology games.